Category: Uncategorized

John Richardson

Its with great sadness that the league learns of the death of John Richardson. John played in the league for many years and was Chairman of the league from 1996 to 2009. Our thoughts are with his family and Linton CC at this very sad time.

John’s funeral will be at the Great Chesterford crematorium on Friday 30th November at 3.00pm.

Registration for 2019 season

Teams wishing to register for the 2019 season should contact the league secretary Colin Godsmark, teams need to register by December 1st.

Teams registered so far for 2019:

Helions Bumpstead, Chesterfords, Wratting Lions, Horseheath, Abington 1, Abington 2, Haverhill 1, Haverhill 2, Linton 1, Linton 2, Ickleton 1, Ickleton 2, Green Army, Sawston / Babraham 1, Sawston / Babraham 2, Granta, Saffron Walden,

Fixture Changes

The league has decided that in the interests of all clubs with the current weather situation that the league games scheduled for April 25th will now be switched to May 23rd. This is for all divisions. The league will now start on May 2nd. This now means that in the cup 1st round if the game is not played due to poor weather on May 9th it has to be replayed on either TUESDAY 15th  or 22nd .  The date for the rearranged cup game has to be confirmed to the Secretary by Friday May 11th or it will automatically be set for Tuesday 15th . A result has to be made on the replay date either by bowl off or toss of coin. Start times are now as follows games on May 2nd 6.00pm and from the 9th onwards 6.30 pm start.


New League President

The league is pleased to announce the new President of the League is Mick Ketteridge. He succeeds Alan Bishop who has stepped down from the role after 17 years. Mick played in the league for Horseheath for over 40 years.

Teams registered so far for 2018

Abington 1, Saffron Walden, Horseheath, Wenden 1, Fulbourn, Haverhill 1

Ickleton 1, Sawston & Babraham, Helions Bumpstead, Ashdon, Wratting Lions, Sewards End

Chesterfords, Granta, Linton 1, Ickleton 2, Haverhill 2, Mill Green

Wenden 2, Linton 2, Weston Colville, Abington 2, Hundon

Fulbourn Win the 2017 Division 1 Title

After a close fought battle with Haverhill 1, Fulbourn CC managed to prevail winning the Division 1 title by just 1 point.

With both teams winning, losing and having the same number of non-results it came down to a single bonus point to split them in the end.

Congratulations to Fulbourn.

2018 season

We are looking for new teams to join the league for the 2018 season. If you are interested please contact the League Secretary Colin Godsmark. Current members will have forms sent to them via e-mail in October. We are ideally looking for 3 new teams to make each division have 6 teams. Hopefully all current members will be able to raise a team for next season. New teams, we can look and put you in the division best suited to you playing strength. If current members wish to add a 2nd XI this is also most welcome. All entries have to be in by December 1st 2017.

Cup Finals

If your club would like to host a final in the 2018 season please contact the league Secretary before November 1st 2017.