Category: 2017 News

Sewards End win the 2017 League Cup

Sewards End win the League Cup for the first time in an exciting game against Haverhill 2.

Batting 1st Sewards End got of to a flyer with David Foster top scoring with 50, Jamie King (33) and Tom Price (38) backing him up to post 152 for 6 from 20. Haverhill’s Liam Botten pulled the game back with 5-33 at a time when they could well of been chasing a much higher total.

The Haverhill innings got of to a slow but composed start with Mick Franks making 51. Liam Botten came in with the situation getting desperate and turned it round with a quick 27 only to see his side come just short of the required total after a superb last over from Johny Hancock, taking 2 wickets for 6 runs, including the dangerous Botten, with Haverhill needing 13 to win.

Liam’s efforts saw him awarded with the man of the match and receive the Highpoint shield.

Scorecard here

Tom Westley

Congratulations to Tom Westley on being selected to play for England’s test team. Tom played for Weston Colville occasionally in this league.

Fulbourn Retain the AH Cup

Fulbourn retained the Adams Harrison Cup after a very exciting game at Haverhill CC against Saffron Walden.

Batting first Fulbourn posted a gettable total with Tom Jagot and Paul Summerskill both making 25.

Going out to bat Saffron Walden would of fancied getting the total. In their reply Saffron Walden started ok and were going well, Spencer Hill making 34 and James Rashford 25.

Things were looking good for Saffron Walden, then wickets were taken at crucial times in the Walden innings by the Fulbourn bowlers. The bowlers then dominated the later part of the game with Ian Still 4-33 Dan Kindred 3-21 and Ben Seabrooke 3-29 to bowl Saffron Walden all out in the final over.

The new Adams Harrison Cup was presented by the donators Peter Smith and Graham Salmonese. Ian Still was presented with the M.O.M. trophy for his bowling on the evening.

Score can be seen here

Pink Balls

The prices for pink balls are £30-00 a box for the club ball (£5.00 each ) and £60-00 a box for the league special (£10.00 each), a box contains 6 balls.

If you wish to order through the league , please do so through the league Secretary, orders by box full only.

Cheques to be made out to Adams Harrison Midweek League, cheques with order. Deadline for the order will be March 31st.

Divisions for 2017 season

Division 1

Abington 1, Fulbourn, Haverhill 1, Horseheath, Saffron Walden, Wratting Lions.

Division 2

Helions Bumpstead, Ickleton 1, Linton 1,Sawston & Babraham, Sewards End, Wenden.

Division 3

Ashdon, Balsham, Chesterfords, Haverhill 2, Hundon, Mill Green.

Division 4

Abington 2, Burrough Green, Ickleton 2, Linton 2.


Teams registered for 2017 season

Abington 1                               Abington 2

Burrough Green                   Chesterford

Fulbourn                                  Helions Bumpstead

Horseheath                            Saffron Walden

Linton 1                                    Sawston / Babraham

Linton 2                                    Wenden

Ickleton 1                                Ickleton 2

Wratting Lions                     Haverhill 1

Haverhill 2                             Ashdon

Balsham                                   Hundon

Sewards End                         Mill Green

These are the teams so for the 2017 season.

Registration for 2017 season

Teams wishing to join the League should contact the League Secretary Colin Godsmark . The deadline for 2017 season is December 1st. Current sides will be e-mailed with forms for the 2017 season shortly.